US Minimum Wages

The Federal minimum wages for employees is $7.25 per hour that went effective as of July 24, 2009. In additionl, many states also have  thier minimum wage laws some are higher than Federal minimum wages.  Where an employee is subject to both the state and federal minimum wage laws, the employee is entitled to the higher minimum wage rate.

US-Minimum-Wages-States

State Hourly Wage Notes
Alabama None Federal minimum applies.
Alaska $7.25 Will increase to be at least $1 above federal minimum
Arizona $7.25 This rate will be automatically adjusted annually based on the U.S. Consumer Price Index. This rate increase does not affect student workers in places such as libraries and cafeterias because those positions are given by universities, which are State entities.
Arkansas $7.25
California $8.00 San Francisco $9.79.
Colorado $7.28 Tipped employees earn $4.26/hour.
Connecticut $8.00 This rate will increase to $8.25 on January 1, 2010. Tipped employees earn $5.41/hour.
Delaware $7.25
District of Columbia $8.25 This rate is automatically set at $1 above the Federal minimum wage rate if the District of Columbia rate is lower.
Florida $7.25 Rises with inflation. $4.19 per hour for tipped employees.
Georgia $5.15 The State Minimum Wage is Only Applicable to employers of 6 or more employees. If less than 6 then there is No Minimum at All. Not linked to the federal rate.
Hawaii $7.25
Idaho $7.25
Illinois $8.00 The minimum wage will increase to $8.25 on July 1, 2010. Employers may pay anyone under the age of 18 $0.50 less. Tipped employees earn $4.65 (employers may claim credit for tips, up to 40% of wage).
Indiana $7.25
Iowa $7.25 Most small retail and service establishments grossing less than 300,000 annually are not required to pay the minimum wage. Tipped employees can be paid 60% of the minimum wage, which is currently $4.35.
Kansas $2.65 Increasing to $7.25 on January 1, 2010. Employees not covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standard Act are subject to Kansas’ current minimum wage laws.
Kentucky $7.25
Louisiana None Federal minimum applies.
Maine $7.25 Increasing to $7.50 on October 1, 2009
Maryland $7.25 The minimum wage is automatically replaced with the Federal minimum wage rate if it is higher than the State minimum wage rate.
Massachusetts $8.00 $2.63 for service (tipped) employees, $1.60 for agricultural employees.
Michigan $7.40 ($2.65 for service (tipped) employees, Minors 16-17 years of age may be paid 85% of the minimum hourly wage rate (currently $6.29 per hour). Training wage for new employees ages 16 to 19 of $4.25/hour for first 90 days of employment.
Minnesota $6.15/$5.25 Large employer (any enterprise whose annual gross volume of sales made or business done is not less than $625,000): $6.15. Small employer (any enterprise whose annual gross volume of sales made or business done is less than $625,000): $5.25.
Mississippi None Federal minimum applies.
Missouri $7.05 This rate is automatically adjusted annually based on the U.S. Consumer Price Index rounded to the nearest five cents.
Montana $6.90 This rate is automatically adjusted annually based on the U.S. Consumer Price Index. Tip income may not be applied as an offset to an employee’s pay rate. The minimum pay is $4/hour for business with less than $110,000 in annual sales.
Nebraska $7.25
Nevada $6.85 Rises with inflation.
New Hampshire $7.25 The minimum wage is automatically replaced with the Federal minimum wage rate if it is higher than the State minimum wage rate.
New Jersey $7.25
New Mexico $7.50 Not linked to the federal rate.

$9.92 in Santa Fe (now covering all employees, since expansion to employers with less than 25 employees, as of January 1, 2008).
As of January 1, 2009, Santa Fe’s rate will have a cost of living increase, thus keeping it the country’s highest minimum wage.

New York $7.25 New York also has a minimum for exempt employees $536.10/week as of January 1, 2007.
North Carolina $7.25
North Dakota $7.25
Ohio $7.30 $7.25 for 14 and 15 year olds and those whose employers gross less than $267,000. This rate is automatically adjusted annually on every January 1 based on the U.S. Consumer Price Index.
Oklahoma $7.25 Federal minimum wage used as reference; no actual amounts written in law.  $2.00/hour for work not covered by federal minimum wage OK Statutes 40-197.5
Oregon $8.40 Rises with inflation.
Pennsylvania $7.25
Rhode Island $7.40 $2.89 for employees receiving tips.
South Carolina None Federal minimum applies.
South Dakota $7.25
Tennessee None Federal minimum applies.
Texas $7.25 Federal minimum wage used as reference; no actual amounts written in law.
Utah $7.25 Federal minimum wage used as reference after legislative action; no actual amounts written in law. Current rate took effect on September 8, 2007.
Vermont $8.06 Rises with inflation.
Virginia $7.25 Federal minimum wage used as reference; no actual amounts written in law.
Washington $8.55 Employees aged 14 or 15 may be paid 85% of the minimum wage, which for 2009 is $7.27 per hour. Increases annually by a voter-approved cost-of-living adjustment based on the federal Consumer Price Index CPI.
West Virginia $7.25 Applicable to employers of 6 or more employees at one location not involved in interstate commerce.
Wisconsin $6.50 75¢ below Federal minimum
Wyoming $5.15 Not linked to the federal rate.